On Air Now
Morning with Alex Schellekens
10:00 - 12:00

Results declared in Renfrewshire for UK General Election 2024

5th Jul 2024

The results of the 2024 UK General Election for the Paisley and Renfrewshire North, and Paisley and Renfrewshire South Constituencies have been declared.

Alison Suzanne Watt Taylor has been elected as MP for Paisley and Renfrewshire North. 

Johanna Baxter has been elected as MP for Paisley and Renfrewshire South. (pictured)

In Paisley and Renfrewshire North, 41,663 votes were cast, a 58.8% per cent turnout.

In Paisley and Renfrewshire South, there were 41,416 votes cast, a 57.9% per cent turnout.

Returning Officer Alan Russell, Chief Executive of Renfrewshire Council, announced the results in the early hours of Friday 5 July at the Lagoon Leisure Centre in Paisley.

The election count involved more than 300 staff who were counting postal votes and the contents of ballot boxes from 135 polling stations.

62 polling places across Renfrewshire had been open from 7.00am until 10.00pm, and included various venues such as schools, community centres, churches, a bowling club, scout hall, sports pavilions and cultural venues.

For more information, visit www.renfrewshire.gov.uk/general-election-2024


Paisley and Renfrewshire North constituency

Jen Bell, Scottish Greens – 1,469

David McGonigle, Scottish Conservative and Unionist – 2,659

Gavin Andrew Stuart Newlands, Scottish National Party (SNP) – 13,228

Andrew Scott, Reform UK – 3,228

Alison Suzanne Watt Taylor, Scottish Labour Party – 19,561 (pictured)

Grant Toghill, Scottish Liberal Democrats – 1,374

Ballot papers rejected – 144
Total votes cast – 41,663
Turnout – 58.8%

Paisley and Renfrewshire South constituency

Johanna Baxter, Scottish Labour Party – 19,583

Athol Bond, Scottish Greens – 1,724

Jacqueline Cameron, Scottish National Party (SNP) – 13,056

Jack William George Clark, Scottish Liberal Democrats – 1,315

Alec Leishman, Scottish Conservative and Unionist – 2,219

Paul Mack – 317

Jim McIlroy, Reform UK – 2,956

Mark Niven Turnbull, Freedom Alliance – 113

Ballot papers rejected – 133
Total votes cast – 41,416
Turnout – 57.9%

Follow Us

Listen live